Division of Labor Services
Brief Comparison of
State and Federal Child Labor Laws
Teens Hiring Guide
(Allowable Jobs, Hours)
Teen Summer Jobs: Safety Pays
of Labor, Child Labor Information
Iowa Child Labor Law
(Iowa Code Chapter 92)
Iowa Child Labor Rules
(Iowa Admin. Code 875 Chapter 32)
Hazardous Chemicals Policy
Special Order Requirements
Guide to Issuing Child Labor Form
Physician's Certification of
Child Labor "Vice"
(Liquor, Tobacco, Lottery)
Nursing, Dietary, Laundry, Housekeeping Aid Declaratory Order
Regarding 15-Year-Old Lifeguards and Ladders
to Work-Based Learning Guide 2002
Child Labor Law
Child Work Permits
Child Labor Regulations: Effective February 15, 2012,
there will be a change in the Iowa Child Labor regulations.
Under certain circumstances, youth aged 16 and 17 will be
allowed to drive golf carts even if the golf course spans a
public road. To view the new language of the
administrative rule, click here.
Youth under the age of 16 in Iowa are required to have a work
permit before starting work. The following information is intended to clarify some of the
Iowa Child Labor laws.
Who needs a work permit? People under 16 years of age cannot be employed or
permitted to work, with or without compensation, unless the person, firm, or corporation
employing the youth receives and keeps a work permit on file, accessible to any officer
charged with the enforcement of the child labor laws. The employer also is required to
keep a complete list of the names and ages of anyone under 16 years of age in his employ.
How to get a work permit. A youth first must go in person to the local school
official designated as an issuing officer or the Iowa Workforce Development Center and
provide one of the following acceptable forms of evidence of age: a certified copy of a
birth certificate, current passport or certified copy of baptismal record
showing the date and place of birth and the place of the childs baptism. If none of
these is available, then a written certification from a physician certifying that, in the physicians opinion, the applicant is 14
years of age or older, is required. The employer then must complete the work permit (Child
Labor Form), specifically listing all work the minor will be performing, equipment he will
use, and hours to be worked. After completing this section, the minors parent
completes and signs his portion of the form. The form then is returned to the issuing
officer for review and approval.
What hours can 14 or 15-year-olds work? Outside school hours, between 7 a.m. and 7
p.m., from the day after Labor Day (in September) through May 31, and no more than four
hours per day, Monday through Friday, or eight hours per day on Saturdays, Sundays and
holidays. No more than a total of 28 hours per week is allowed. From June 1 through Labor
Day, a minor may work up to eight hours per day between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m., but not more
than 40 hours per week.
Federal child labor laws restrict maximum work hours to 18 hours per week, from the day
after Labor Day (in September) through May 31, with three hours per day, Monday through
Friday, outside of school hours, and eight hours on Saturday, Sundays and holidays,
between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m.
Who needs a Certificate of Age? An employer may require that a
prospective minor employee obtain a Certificate of Age. Youths who are
16 or older can obtain a Certificate of Age by going to the local
Workforce Development Center or the local school official designated as
the issuing officer with one of the following acceptable forms of
evidence of age: a certified copy of a birth certificate, current
passport or certified copy of a baptismal certificate, or a physician’s
certification of age, completed by a physician appointed by the local
board of education certifying that, in the physician’s opinion, the
minor is 14 years of age or older.
Under Iowa Child Labor laws, Iowa Code Chapter 92, minors under the age of 18 are
prohibited from working in certain occupations, performing certain duties, and from using
For more information on federal child labor laws, contact the U.S. Department of Labor,
Wage and Hour Division, in Des Moines at (515) 284-4625.
(For an employer subject to both state and federal child labor laws, the employer should
follow the more restrictive law.)
As of July 1, 2009, civil penalties of up to
$10,000 per violation per child for a child labor law violation are
possible instead of or in addition to criminal prosecution. Iowa
Administrative Code 875–32.11(92) outlines how these civil penalties are
calculated. If you are an employer or a parent/guardian, please
make sure you know the child labor laws before you hire a minor or
permit a minor to work.
For more information on State of Iowa child labor
laws or to file a child labor complaint, contact:
Return to Division of Labor Home Page
Search Division of Labor
Iowa Workforce Development