|Iowa Workforce Development | IowaWorks | IowaJobs | Iowa Trends | Labor Market Information  

Iowa Workforce Development - Smart.   Results...Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa's Employment Security Agency
Work With UsŪ


American Flags

Resources For Employers And Service Members Effected By Activation And Deployments

Iowa Workforce
Updated Unemployment Insurance Acronym List
(108 KB PDF)


The Iowa Workforce Development Board

Tentative Upcoming Meetings:

Monday, April 20, 2015
5:00 pm
Call in Number: 1-866-685-1580
Conference Code: 0009990910#

Conference calls will be held, as necessary, between meetings.

WIA Annual Report 2013 DRAFT
(Microsoft Word Document 1.44 MB)

Hire Our Heroes Video
(On YouTube)

Legislation was passed in May 1996 to create a new state department, Iowa Workforce Development, to streamline employment and training programs. The Iowa Workforce Development Board  was created in the legislation. In 1999 the Board assumed the responsibilities of the State Workforce Investment Board under the federal Workforce Investment Act (WIA) signed into law in August 1998.

The duties of the Iowa Workforce Development Board include, but are not limited to, the following activities: the development and implementation of a twenty-year comprehensive workforce development plan; the preparation of a five-year strategic plan; the development of evaluation methods; the establishment of guidelines for the awarding of grants; the review of grants awarded by Iowa Workforce Development; the recommendation of departmental usage of federal funding; and the adoption of administrative rules recommended by the director of Iowa Workforce Development.

The Board members consists of nine voting members. The voting members represent employers, employees and a nonprofit workforce development organization. The current board chair is Andy Roberts. and the vice-chair is Dee Vanderheof .

The list of Iowa Workforce Development Board voting members include:

Employer Representatives:

  • Caroline Hicks,Swine Graphics Enterprises, LLP, Osceola

  • Suzanne Kmet, Peddicord Wharton Law Firm, West Des Moines

  • John Krogman, Connect-A-Dock, Inc., Atlantic

  • Dee Vanderhoef, Iowa City

Employee Representatives:

  • Ken Sagar, Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO, Des Moines (Statewide labor organization representative)

  • Andy Roberts, Plumbers and Steamfitters Union #33, Des Moines

  • Stacey Anderson, GMP International Union, Dike

  • Robert Gilmore, I.U.P.A.T. District Council #61, Des Moines

Non-Profit Workforce Development Organization Representative

  • Noreen Mostkoff, HCI Care Services/VNS of Iowa, West Des Moines

Ex-officio Non-voting Members:

  • Gary Steinke, Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities, Des Moines

  • Drew Conrad, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls

  • Greg Lewis, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, Des Moines

  • Steve Ovel, Kirkwood Community College, Cedar Rapids

  • Greer Sisson - U. S. Department of Labor/Office of Apprenticeship, Des Moines

  • Jeremy Varner – Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines

  • Debi Durham – Iowa Department of Economic Development

  • David Mitchell – Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Services, Des Moines

  • State Senator William Dotzler, Waterloo

  • State Senator Jake Chapman, Adel

  • State Representative Kirsten Running-Marquardt – Cedar Rapids

  • State Representative Mary Ann Hanusa, Council Bluffs

About Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Workforce Development Home Page




Workforce Development Board Page